Department of Mineral and Energy Resources

Department of Mineral and Energy Resources


Headed by Secretary SHADRACH HIMATA under the ministerial leadership of Honorable RAYMOND MASONO, ABG Vice President and Minister for Mineral and Energy Resources, Its mandate is focused on:

  • Mining policy
  • Mining Safety Exploration (all minerals)
  • Licensing and regulation of developers
  • Energy policy

News and updates

  • New Bougainville Mining Act and partial lifting of the mining moratorium with applications for mining in Tore, Isina and Jaba being accepted. 
  • Work to sensitively re-open Panguna mine site is well advanced.
  • Need to manage exploration applications efficiently and effectively, ensuring that the interests of the ABG are always upheld.
  • Finalising arrangements of the BCL Steering Committee so that important consultation work can commence with respect to mining operations at Panguna.