Department of the President and the Bougainville Executive Council

Department of the President and the Bougainville Executive Council


Headed by the ABG President Honorable Chief Dr. JOHN MOMIS. Its mandate is focused on:

  • Strategic policy and planning
  • Autonomy implementation
  • Public relations, media and communications
  • Executive services
  • International relations
  • Inter-governmental relations
  • Internal audit
  • Development partnerships

The Constitution of the Autonomous Region of Bougainville declares that a President who is elected at the time of a Bougainville general election takes office on the day after the date fixed for the return of the writ in his election.

The President is the Head and Chairman of the Bougainville Executive Council (BEC) and shall preside at all meetings of the Bougainville Executive Council at which they are present. They shall represent the Autonomous Bougainville Government and the people of the Autonomous Region of Bougainville on ceremonial occasions and has such other rights, powers, functions, duties and responsibilities as are provided for in the constitution.The office of the President is the highest department in the Bougainville Public Service Structure. It is situated at Kubu, Buka and close to the vicinity of the Bougainville House of Representatives.


The Department of the President and the Bougainville Executive Council (BEC) is the office that oversees the general functions of:

  1. the Chief Secretary for the Autonomous Region of Bougainville (ARoB);
  2. the Bougainville Electoral Commissioners Office and
  3. the Bureau of Public Affairs, Media and Communication.


The Bougainville Executive Council by law has the executive power of the Autonomous Bougainville Government (ABG). In addition to other powers conferred on it, the BEC has the power to undertake what is deemed necessary or convenient in connection with the operations and activities of the ABG.

The Bougainville Executive Council (BEC) consists of the President (directly elected), the Vice President (appointed by the President from members of the House; Representatives from one of the regions, North, Central and South, other than the region from which the President himself comes), two members from the region the President himself comes (appointed by the President); two members from each region (appointed by the President from members nominated by Regional Committees), one women member (appointed by the President), one other member (appointed by the President).


The Bougainville Strategic Development Plan 2018-2022 is Bougainville’s blueprint and guide for development over the next five years. Through this plan, the ABG is responding to identified community needs from South, Central and Northern regions, including Bougainvilleans outside of Bougainville. This ‘all-inclusive’ approach taken by the ABG promotes equal participation by all.

Under a united Vision for Bougainville, the plan focuses on four key areas:

Social development: a peaceful, harmonious and healthy society
Economic development: economically self-reliant and managing our own resources, land and other natural resources to develop Bougainville
Infrastructure development: building the physical foundations for development and peace
Government framework: a sound, transparent and effective governance framework to deliver services

Click here to download a copy of the Bougainville Strategic Development Plan.