News and Public Notices

The latest from across Bougainville

Inter-sectoral taskforce teams established for Bougainville

A total of nine teams have been established today consisting of public servants, state agencies representatives, businesses and churches that will be supporting the government’s response efforts against the COVID-19 pandemic.

The establishment of these teams were formed during the meeting between the State of Emergency Controller and Chief of Bougainville Police Service Francis Tokura, the Deputy Controller and Acting Chief Secretary Thomas Raivet, and Health Secretary Clement Totavun with all heads of departments and state agencies’ representatives today.

These teams are:

  1. Security Sector Support Team
  2. Health Sector Support Team
  3. Disaster & Emergency Support Team
  4. Economic Sector Support Team
  5. Public Utilities Sector Support Team
  6. Social Sector Support Team
  7. Churches Support Team
  8. ABG Elections Team
  9. Development Partners

They were provided with up to date information on the new emergency orders and the Bougainville COVID-19 emergency response plan during the meeting today.

President of the Autonomous Region of Bougainville, Chief Dr John Momis, was also present at the meeting where he also provided the overall guidance and government expectations of during this emergency period.

It is expected that these teams will now develop plans and budgets to respond to multiple contingencies that may arise over the next few months as we continue the next two months of the emergency period in Bougainville.

The Inter-Sectoral Teams will meet again on Friday 24 April 2020.

[ Back to News ]