Cabinet Ministers

The current ministers announced and declared

Hon. Chief Dr. John Momis GCL, MHR

H.E Grand Chief Dr. John Lawrence Momis, GCL, MHR President of the Autonomous Region of Bougainville & The Autonomous Bougainville Government  

President Dr. John Momis represented the people of Bougainville as its Regional Member and Governor in the Parliament of Papua New Guinea for over thirty years until he resigned in 2005. He was the de-facto Chairman of the Constitutional Planning Committee that drafted Papua New Guinea’s Constitution and thus is recognized as the Father of the PNG Constitution.  

He was also the first Minister for Decentralization and was responsible for setting up nineteen Provincial Governments in Papua New Guinea. He was instrumental in moving a Parliamentary motion calling for the formulation of the first ever mining policy in Papua New Guinea and then called for the renegotiation of the Bougainville Copper Agreement.  

Dr. Momis held various key portfolios in the National Government as well as being Deputy Prime Minister and he is regarded as an elder statesman in the Pacific Region. He was also granted the Grand Companion of the Logohu Award in 2007.

He played a leading role in the negotiations that led to the Bougainville Peace Agreement and subsequently to the granting of autonomy to Bougainville.  

He is currently serving his second term as the President of the Autonomous Region of Bougainville after winning a victory in the June 2015  elections. 

[ Back to Cabinet Ministers ]